That Soulless, Infinite Desperation

I’ve been reading bits of a book called Escape from Corporate America by Pamela Skillings. (How could I resist a title like that?) There’s nothing revolutionary in it, but she has an interesting little blurb on Paul Lieberstein, a writer/producer for the TV show The Office. He worked as a Corporate auditor before ditching it all to write. He seems to have had some pretty useful connections to the biz (his brother in law is the executive producer of the show) but she glosses over that. Anyway, it’s obvious where some of the show’s disturbing realness comes from:

“I suppose I’ve used a few details of my corporate days in my writing, but mostly I’ve just kept with me that general sense of soulless, infinite desperation that’s part of the day-to-day operation of business,” he says.

Big Red, the company I work for, has provided so much material to write about, it’s hard to know where to start.

~ by standupmimi on October 24, 2008.

One Response to “That Soulless, Infinite Desperation”

  1. like all good tales, start at the beginning and work toward the end. I’d be inclined to say HR was the beginning of a good career tale for most people :).

Leave a comment